True Value Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench

Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench

This handsome bench features an attractive basket weave resin insert on the back, hardwood slat seats and a rugged cast iron frame.
Average Customer Rating:
2.45 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown (Total of 20 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
8
7 out of 20(35%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Review 1 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as thrilled as I expected

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
benchmademesad
from New Hampshire
Experience Level:Experienced
We bought this and expected it to be a great bench, but were less than satisfied with both materials and comfort. When we both sat in it (we're both average to thin), the whole bench made a horrible cracking noise and we thought it might break! it also is not very sturdy. The back panel was plastic, (maybe I didn't read the fine print closely enough) and the legs were almost "chipping" of their paint. Not very comfortable, it forces you to sit very straight and there really isn't room to add a pillow or two.
Haven't had it for more than a week, I hope I can return it assembled.
Pros: i like the type of wood on the seat
Cons: not sturdy, poor construction materials
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lightweight bench

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
ncdad
from North Carolina
Experience Level:Experienced
I did not visit the store to view this bench before purchasing it online. I was suprised that the box did not weigh more than it did when the package arrived. I opened the box and found that all of the wood used on the bench is untreated, unstained wood, so I ended up putting a couple of coats of polyurethane on the wood before assembling the bench. The hardware used for assembling the bench is cheap ( I mean really cheap ). You can strip the bolts easily if you are not careful. Even using a screwdriver to tighten the bolts you can strip them. The wood is relative thin and will flex considerably with an average man (180 lbs) sitting in the middle of the bench. You probably would not want two full sized adults to sit on the bench. All in all, the bench will work for what I want (a bench for our little daughter to sit and play on in the yard) but if you are looking for something that is heavyweight and will handle two adults sitting on it without a huge amount of flex, then you should look somewhere else.
Pros: inexpensive - when on sale, looks attractive
Cons: lightweight, wood is not stained or treated, cheap hardware strips easily
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is inferior in quality.

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Smartshopper2
from Chicago, IL
Experience Level:Experienced
The wood on this bench is actually patched and areas are covered with touch up paint. I think these are seconds; defective products. I would never recommend this product and l will be calling True Value to get a ful refund. You can purchase a much better product at other stores with a similar price, but much better quality. To say I'm disappointed is mild.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

JUST FOR SHOW

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
ACNY
from New York ny
Experience Level:Experienced
The parts are flimsy. If you are over 150 pounds, forget about actually sitting on it. Children can use it for playtime. I do not recommend this product.
Cons: cheaply made
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

You get what you pay for.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoMo
from Los Angeles, CA
Experience Level:Beginner
I don't think the bench is not meant to hold the weight of two adults. It is useful to have at the front porch to put on your shoes for a few seconds, but you can feel the wooden strips bend when you sit on it.
Pros: price
Cons: can not hold 2 people's weight
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Flimsy

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dissatisfied1
I put it together and the back broke two days later. it is not a very sturdy.I guess if you pay a low price, you get lower quality. If you plan on sitting on it, don't buy it. If you plan on using it for decoration, it looks very nice.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice bench

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
pbw2007
from fkorida
Experience Level:Beginner
nice product and really good price looks good in our garden
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

patio bench

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
patioguy
from L. I. , NY
Experience Level:Experienced
inexpensive, clean, like the hardware but do not like the plastic back
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flimsy, weak and cheap materials

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
boombha
Experience Level:Experienced
I bought this on sale for $39.99 (original price $70 something). I assumed by pictures and size that it will come pre-assembled, but I found that it was in a box, I knew then and there that it wouldn't be as sturdy as assumed. While assembling and after completing I noticed that the only support that the seat slats have are the end supports (the legs) and in the middle there is nothing to support against the downward force when sitting. There is only a thin metal strip that you screw into the slats (1" screw for each of the four slats, and not a real support. When sitting the slats bowed a lot and I was not feeling safe sitting on it. This is more suitable for kids. The back support is short. Even for the sale price its not a good deal because I really thought I was getting a $70 seat for $40 and presumed the quality of a $70 chair, if known I would have not bought for this amount of money. Since it was a gift and not personal use, I don't wanna deal with the whole taking gift back etc.
Pros: good for kids
Cons: flimsy weak not for adults
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really good for the price

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
ktg1
from Phoenixville, PA
Experience Level:Beginner
Got it on sale. Took a little fiddling to get all the slats to fit. Pretty sturdy once assembled. I would prefer an all-wood back instead of the fake plastic wrought iron. However, for $35, the price/performance can't be beat.
Pros: sturdy
Cons: not super-high quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joeblue
from sunnyvale,ca
Experience Level:Experienced
Pros: looks good, easy to build.
Cons: the wood is light and wont take weight.
(3 kids or 2 adults max)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheap

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
FoolmeOnce
from IL
Experience Level:Experienced
If you want a cheap bench this is it. If you want one that looks nice and is going to last look else where. Made in China pretty much sums it up. The back is plastic - not cast iron like the photo is meant to make you believe. The wood slats have wood filler all over them and it was just left like that - not finished - not stained. Looks bad. If I had paid a lot for it I would have returned it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad quality

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
sillypotato
from baltimore, MD
Experience Level:Experienced
I tried to assembling the bench together , and the holes on the one the straight back weren't at right location. I rather return it back to the store if it's close by.
so I cut off a little of the end to put them together. the seat slates feel so soft when one adult sit on it( our weight are less than 150 Ib.), we are worry about it will be broken if 2 adults sit on it.
And we could not find any information about the bench's capacity from instruction and package box. Not worth of the sale price even .
Cons: not good quality product
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This bench looks better than it is

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
BargainHunter
from Lewistown, PA
Experience Level:Beginner
I thought that if I assembled the bench myself, that would allow the manufacturer to provide a high quality product at a reduced price, this was not the case. Even though the wood slats provided are solid wood, once the bench is assembled, it stills manages to feel flimsy in danger of collapse. As far as the "attractive basket weave resin insert" the translation is as follows: "cheap plastic insert that does NOT look authentic up close". It does look nice AND functional, from a distance. It would be great for staging an area of your yard you don't intend to actually sit in.
Pros: looks good - from a distance
Cons: cheap materials
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very nice bench for the price

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
tdinger
from Denver, Pa
Experience Level:Experienced
I purchased this bench for our garden and had it delivered to our local tru value store. The bench is attractive, but I would not recommend it for a large person. I weigh around 250lbs, and although it is secure, it does not feel solid that I would want another individual on the bench with me.
The assembly instructions were not user friendly. Although there were not a lot of pieces, it would have been easier with some basic assembly instrutions
Pros: very attractive on patio or garden
Cons: bench seems a little weak for two large adults., assembly instructions were terrible to try to foll
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheaply Made

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
LJDaOne
You get what you pay for.. the back rest is plastic.... only cast iron is the two side stands...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product better price

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Great product better price. Looks good and was relatively easy to assemble.
Pros: nice look
Cons: not heavy duty
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad item

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
nick12345
from new orleans
Experience Level:Experienced
missing screws, cheap wood and poorly constructed
do't buy
Cons: don't buy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice item for the price

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
am2day
from New York, NY
Experience Level:Experienced
I purchased this item on sale and esthetically, it looks nice. Item can hold about 250lbs. Easy assembly, although one of the screw proved too small so i swapped it with one of my own. Looks like this item will last.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cast Iron & Wood Patio Bench
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Missing Parts

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
builder
from Alpharetta, GA
Experience Level:Beginner
I bought this online with store pickup.
I could not assembly it as there are only 'main' parts available in the box
Missing a lot of nails and other stuffs to join them together
I emailed customer support but no response.
So I think I have to bring it back to store, waste of time and effort.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.