True Value Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At True Value
Shop Canning Jars & Lids or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Ball Wide-Mouth Canning Jars With 2-Pc.Closures, 1/2-Gal., 6-Pk.

Ball Wide-Mouth Canning Jars With 2-Pc.Closures, 1/2-Gal., 6-Pk.

6-Pk. 1/2-Gallon Wide-Mouth Jars With 2-Piece Closures. Includes bands and instructions for home canning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown (Total of 9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ball Wide-Mouth Canning Jars With 2-Pc.Closures, 1/2-Gal., 6-Pk.
Review 1 for Ball Wide-Mouth Canning Jars With 2-Pc.Closures, 1/2-Gal., 6-Pk.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product with some limitations to be aware of

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Haunsdoger
from New Mexico
Experience Level:Experienced
Great product - I make yogurt in them (gallon at a time) but there is one thing to take note - These jars do not tolerate temperature change at all, they will break. Room temp is all you can do with these jars. I set them in a gallon of cold water, and filled them with cold milk and turned the heat on the water bath : ON LOW. And after a few minutes, they cracked at the bottom. Keep jars off the bottom of water bath and heat slowly and they'll work fine. Good Product.
Pros: large easy to clean
Cons: do not tolerate heat changes
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ball Wide-Mouth Canning Jars With 2-Pc.Closures, 1/2-Gal., 6-Pk.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best way to order these jars!

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
HeavenlyFlower
from Salt Lake City, UT
Experience Level:Experienced
This is the best way to order these jars! They were in perfect condition and the friendly sales clerk knew exactly what to do when I said I was there to pick up my order. He even loaded them into my car for me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ball Wide-Mouth Canning Jars With 2-Pc.Closures, 1/2-Gal., 6-Pk.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size for storage

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
StefDee
I've been changing storage containers from plastic to glass. For hings with a large volume, like flour, these half gallon jars are perfect. I've shopped for this size online to be delivered to my address directly, but they are not packaged for that type of shipping and can arrive broken. The best place I've found to order them is at TrueValue for in-store pickup. That way you know they will be whole and unbroken.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ball Wide-Mouth Canning Jars With 2-Pc.Closures, 1/2-Gal., 6-Pk.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good jars - quite durable

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Milklady
from southern NH
Experience Level:Experienced
We use these for milk as we have a few Jersey cows. They've been used and washed over and over again. Durable and last for years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ball Wide-Mouth Canning Jars With 2-Pc.Closures, 1/2-Gal., 6-Pk.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

1/2 Gallon Jars are a Great Size for Dry Goods!

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
dayewoman
Experience Level:Beginner
I originally purchased these 1/2 gallon jars to can tomato soup. However, they are too big to fit into my water bath canner and my pressure canner is not deep enough either to accommodate these jars. So unless I get another canner that is taller, I will use these to store dry goods such as flour, sugar, beans, etc. They would store and present well on a counter.
Pros: large enough for dry goods
Cons: too tall for my water canner
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dlduncan
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about dlduncan is loaded.
Additional information about dlduncan could not be loaded.
Not meant for canning.
Posted September 20, 2013
Please read carefully before trying to can in the 1/2 gallon jar. It is meant for juices and dry storage. It is not meant for canning purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter DelIcioUs Digg
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Ball Wide-Mouth Canning Jars With 2-Pc.Closures, 1/2-Gal., 6-Pk.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Pantry Makeover Secret!

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suz2U
My pantry looks really cute and super organized now -- like a magazine cover! I keep cereals, sugar, beans, flour, rice, quinoa, dried fruit and candy in them. Once in a while, I pop them in the dishwasher so that they are super sparkly!
I've also used them for canning and they will seal with a vacuum sealer.
These jars are very low-cost, useful, easy storage solution. You will wonder what you did without them!
Pros: high-quality, cute, low-cost storage
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ball Wide-Mouth Canning Jars With 2-Pc.Closures, 1/2-Gal., 6-Pk.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great size, bought plastic caps to use for soups, milk etc in fridge too

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sully
from Brooksville, FL
Experience Level:Experienced
Love the idea of being able to buy items not stocked routinely at the old time feel hardware store that is local, and have it delivered for free shipping to the store!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ball Wide-Mouth Canning Jars With 2-Pc.Closures, 1/2-Gal., 6-Pk.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product is attractive

PostedMay 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lorna
from Bloomington, MN
Experience Level:Experienced
I love working with True Value. The free shipping is really helpful, especially with heavy glass products. My only complaint is the half gallon jars were scratched from shipping. It could be a problem with packaging at Ball as there isn't any cardboard separating the glass. The smaller jars were shipped fine as they had the cardboard separations. Not sure why the half gallon jars weren't protected. Love the product but don't like the scratches.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ball Wide-Mouth Canning Jars With 2-Pc.Closures, 1/2-Gal., 6-Pk.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tight seal - great jars!

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
tvshopper
Not only did I use these jars for canning during the Fall season, but they make great canisters for marbles, sand, and lots of small supplies for children's artwork projects.
Pros: great seal on jar, durable thick glass
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.